Operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant (OVII) has some serious consequences in Hawaii. This also includes DUI charges. If you were pulled over by an officer in Honolulu and your blood alcohol content was .08% or more, you could be charged with DUI. Dealing with Felony DUI in Honolulu can be challenging, and in your best interests, you need to contact an attorney right away. You could face DUI charges even if you were not driving but were found in physical control of the vehicle. For your help, here is an overview of Hawaii DUI penalties.
If this is your first DUI charge, you could face one-year license revocation along with a 14-hour rehabilitation program. The judge has the discretion to change the sentencing within the statute, and you may have to do up to 72 hours of community service or serve up to five days in jail along with fines up to $1,000.
If you had been charged with DUI in the last ten years and are charged again, you could face up to three years of license revocation and fines up to $3,000. You will also have to serve either jail time or do up to 240 hours of community service. The jail time can be anywhere between 5 to 30 days. Even child drivers are not spared. Anyone under the age of 15 and charged with DUI may face an additional $500 in fines and spend 2 days in jail.
If you have two DUI convictions and are charged for the third time, you would be considered a habitual offender. Besides continuous alcohol monitoring, you may have to spend up to five years in prison. There are other penalties like five years of probation, up to five years of license revocation, and up to $5,000 in fines. The judge could even ask you to go for substance abuse counseling.
Get an attorney
DUI charges are not meant to be taken lightly. Besides the penalties mentioned above, you may face other repercussions, and eventually, it can take a toll on your career, family, and social life. DUI attorneys in Honolulu can help defend these charges. At times, it is possible to prove that the officer didn’t adhere to the protocols when charging you with DUI or that the device was faulty. Even lab tests can be questioned.
Talk to an attorney to know if you can defend DUI charges.